​Yesterday evening we celebrated tech’s international stars at the inaugural Tech City News International Hall of Fame Awards. The event showed the priceless contribution that the migrant entrepreneur community has had in Britain’s tech sector. Part of the London Technology Week, the event, sponsored by Fitzgerald and Law, WorldPayUK and Propel London, gained international media attention with coverage from CNN and CNBC, alongside The Telegraph and The Evening Standard.

Despite all the bad press around immigration, the importance of international tech talent in the UK is unquestionable. As the report from the Centre for Entrepreneurs and DueDil found, migrant entrepreneurs are behind the creation of one in seven UK companies while migrant-founded companies are responsible for generating 14% of all jobs.

Vince Cable, Secretary of State of Business, Innovation and Skills, who presented the International Entrepreneur of Year award, praised the migrant entrepreneurs who are “behind the creative drive and entrepreneurial energy” in the UK. He also endorsed the Tech City News initiative, mentioning:

“Migrant entrepreneurs make a hugely significant contribution to the UK economy and the Tech City News International Hall of Fame puts the spotlight on the achievements of some of these individuals.”

We’re really proud to have taken part in this event and have our CEO and founder, Melina Jacovou, present the awards for the Connectors category.

The Tech City News International Hall of Fame includes:


Hussein Kanji Hoxton Ventures

Sherry Coutu Angel Investor

Robin Klein Index Ventures

Eileen Burbidge Passion Capital

Eric Van der Kleij Level39

ConnectorsBryce Keane Albion Drive

Eze Vidra Google for Entrepreneurs

Bindi Karia Silicon Valley Bank

Russ Shaw Tech London Advocates

Elizabeth Varley TechHub

Ones to WatchNicholas Russell & Mike Salter We Are Pop Up

Maxim Berglund & Alex Loizou StreetHub

Iris Lapinski Apps for Good

Jody Orsborn The Backscratchers

Dmitry Aksenov & Bogdan Maksak FinGenius

SuperstarsRytis Vitkauskas & Viktoras Jucikas YPlan

Yoni Assia eToro

Taavet Hinrikus & Kristo Käärmann TransferWise

Arnaud Bertrand & Junjun Chen HouseTrip

Bernhard Niesner & Adrian Hilti Busuu

International Entrepreneur of the YearDamian Kimmelman DueDil